Shashank Manohar Steps Down As ICC Chairman

Shashank Manohar Steps Down As ICC chairman – Manohar has stepped down as ICC Chairman with immediate effect leaving the ultimate position of World Cricket vacant. Shashank Manohar’s resignation has come just after 8 months in the office.

Trending Now: IPL 2017 Schedule – Teamwise, Venue wise

Shashank Manohar was elected unopposed for the ICC Chairman right after stepping down as president of BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India). He was elected eight months back in May 2016. During the election process, Manohar was the only candidate running the ICC Chairman elections and was unanimously supported by others.

Shashank Manohar Steps Down As ICC Chairman

Shashank Manohar Steps Down As ICC Chairman

It is said that Manohar who is an Indian lawyer, who also was President of BCCI has resigned the topmost position for his own ‘personal reasons’. Shashank Manohar was the President of BCCI from 2008-2011. He was re-elected as BCCI President after the demise of Jagmohan Dalmiya in 2015.

An official informed the news of Manohar stepping down as ICC Chairman citing his own personal reasons. Sources also confirm that the resignation letter was sent to ICC CEO Dave Richardson.

In his resignation letter to ICC, Shashank Manohar quoted,

“I have tried to do my best and have tried to be fair and impartial in deciding matters in the functioning of the Board and in matters related to Member Boards along with the able support of all Directors.

However, for personal reasons it is not possible for me to hold the august office of ICC Chairman and hence I am tendering my resignation as Chairman with immediate effect.

I take this opportunity to thank all the Directors, the Management and staff of ICC for supporting me wholeheartedly.I wish ICC all the very best and hope it achieves greater heights in future.”

Updated: 15th March 2017 — 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IPL Schedule 2017 Time Table, Fixtures, Auction Date, Teams & Players List © 2016 Frontier Theme
error: Content is protected !!