7 Most Expensive Spells of IPL History

Most Expensive Spells of IPL History – Many have said that T20 is not the bowlers game but many bowlers have proved them wrong by bowling some incredible spells and winning the matches on their own. While many bowlers have gone for plenty and landing their team in a spot of bother. So here we are sharing the most expensive spells in IPL history. Who do you think will top the list? Any idea? Well, comment below if you think you know the answer.

Also Read: Indian Premier League 2017 Schedule

Most Expensive Spells in IPL History

Most Expensive Spells in IPL History

#7. Shane Watson (4-0-61-0)

This is a shocking name but yes Shane Watson is the one bowler who has suffered the thrashing. His figures of 4 overs for 61 runs came against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2016 Final. Eventually, the team had to suffer a loss in one of the most important games of the tournament. Shane Watson was hammered in the opening over and slog overs. Shane Watson started poorly, conceding 19 runs off the 1st over to Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner. His slog overs also went for plenty with Ben Cutting hitting Watson’s deliveries all over the park. Sunrisers mounted 208 runs in the 2016 IPL Final which RCB failed to chase by 8 runs.

Also Read: Who will Win IPL 2017? Predict and Vote for your favourite team

#6. Michael Neser (4-0-62-0)

Queensland fast bowler, Michael Neser who was a part of Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2013 has played only one game in the IPL so far. Unfortunately, the one game he played was against power-packed team Royal Challengers Bangalore. The rookie had to go face to face against the likes of Chris Gayle and ABD who were in punishing mood. Chris Gayle logged two consecutive sixes in the very first over of Michael Neser. Further proceedings were handled by South African AB de Villers. Even though KXIP went on to win this match, Michael Neser did not bowl again in IPL.

Also Read: IPL 2017 Points Table 

#5. Ashok Dinda (4-0-63-0)

These figures of 63 runs off 4 overs came during Mumbai Indians vs Pune Warriors Match. Pune Warriors pace bowler Ashok Dinda opened the bowling for the side. Starting with the wide delivery, Sachin Tendulkar hammered Ashok Dinda for back to back 4 boundaries. Dinda was scrapped off after his first over itself. During slog over, when Dinda was handed the ball again, the story remained the same. Rohit Sharma managed to clear the boundary 4 times giving Ashok Dinda one of the worst figures in IPL history.

Also Read: ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Schedule Announced!

#4. Varun Aaron (4-0-63-2)

IPL 2012, second qualifying match between Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super kings. Varun Aaron went for plenty in his opening over but managed to bounce back with two key wickets of Michael Hussey and MS Dhoni. His comeback was remarkable with figures of 3 overs 2 for 38 runs. But not many will remember his comeback as Dwayne Bravo smashed him for 20 runs in last four ball to end Varun Aaron’s remarkable comeback into misery. Chennai Super Kings mounted 222 runs and won the game easily by a margin of 86 runs to enter the final of IPL 2012.

Also Read: IPL 2017 Theme Song – Yeh 10 Saal Aapke Naam

#3. Sandeep Sharma (4-0-65-1)

New young talent who had found his spot in Kings XI Punjab side was handed a new ball by captain George Bailey against Sunrisers Hyderabad (IPL 2014). Impressed by his starting figures of 2 overs for 13 runs, George Bailey persisted with him for a third straight over. The move backfired and Shikhar Dhawan smashed his out of the park for 4 fours and one six making Sandeep Sharma’s life difficult. The story remained same when Sharma returned to bowl 19th over. Though he picked one wicket, his last six bowls went for 26 runs giving him figures of 4-0-65-1. These are figures are third on the all-time worst bowling spells in IPL history.

Also Read: IPL 2017 Tickets – Book Now!

#2. Umesh Yadav (4-0-65-0)

The second worst figures of IPL history came against Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils match. After leaking just 18 runs of first 2 overs, David Warner brought back Umesh Yadav in slog overs. Set Virat Kohli smashed Umesh Yadav all over the park handing Umesh the second worst figures of all time. The score of 183 was enough for RCB to secure win in this match.

Also Read: ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Schedule, Time Table

#1. Ishant Sharma (4-0-66-0)

Ishant Sharma, representing Sunrisers Hyderabad would have never dreamt that he would concede 66 runs. It was against Chennai Super Kings, who had big hitters in their batting order smashed Ishant in every possible direction making worst bowling figures in IPL history. Ishant Sharma’s bowling partner, Dale Steyn on other hand conceded only 17 runs in his 4 overs. With no surprise, CSK piled on runs and won the game easily.

Also Read: IPL 2017 Live Streaming, Telecast

Updated: 22nd March 2017 — 12:20 pm


Add a Comment
  1. ipl is like a friendly match for all team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IPL Schedule 2017 Time Table, Fixtures, Auction Date, Teams & Players List © 2016 Frontier Theme
error: Content is protected !!