MS Dhoni To Use Coloured Bat For IPL 2017?

MS Dhoni may wield coloured bat after Chris Gayle, Andre Russell set trend in BBL

MS Dhoni to use coloured bat – One of the leading bat manufacturers ‘Spartan Sports’ have expressed their desire that India’s ODI captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni should use the coloured bat for upcoming IPL 2017. After Andre Russel and Chris Gayle have set the tone of using coloured bat in Big Bash 2016, company hopes the IPL star will also use a weird coloured bat in IPL 10.

Also Read: List of Players Released & Retained By All 8 IPL Teams

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni

As quoted in Deccan Chronicle, the cricket manager of Spartan Sports, Cameron Merchant said,

Dhoni is more than welcome to use a coloured bat (in IPL). He is such an amazing role model, influential cricketer and kids look up to him.

MSD is one of the most recognisable faces in Indian Premier League and Dhoni using coloured bat would add zing and colour to what is already an extravaganza. Earlier in BBL, Andre Russel used a black coloured bat with pink logo and grip. Russel had also tried pink coloured bat during CPL 2016. Another West Indian explosive batsman Chris Gayle had used a coloured bat.

Also Read: Dale Steyn to miss IPL 2017

Coloured bats are legal in franchise cricket all over the world. Cricket Australia have allowed coloured bats for BBL, but colours should be similar to club jersey. ie. Sydney Thunders are black and green so either full green or full black bat is allowed. After Andre Russel used black bat in opening match of BBL, cricket Australia banned the use of coloured bat as bat colour marks were seen on kookaburra ball.

Andre Russel and Chris Gayle

Andre Russel and Chris Gayle

So will Dhoni use a coloured bat in IPL 10? If yes, what will be ‘that weird colour’? Should Dhoni use coloured bat in IPL 2017? Comment down what you feel in the comment section.

Updated: 27th December 2016 — 7:25 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IPL Schedule 2017 Time Table, Fixtures, Auction Date, Teams & Players List © 2016 Frontier Theme
error: Content is protected !!